Fellow of the American Physical Soceity

APS members are eligible for nomination and election to Fellowship. Each nomination is evaluated by the Fellowship committee of the appropriate APS division, topical group or forum. After review by the APS Fellowship Committee, the successful candidates are elected by APS Council. Fellowship is therefore a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers.

Curtis A Meyer was elected a Fellow of the APS in 2004
Citation: For his contributions to and his leadership in the experimental study of the light quark spectrum and the role of gluonic excitations. Nominated by: Nuclear Physics (DNP)

The Ashkin Award

The purpose of the Julius Ashkin Teaching Award is to encourage and recognize unusual devotion and effectiveness in teaching undergraduate students in the Mellon College of Science. This award was established in 1980.

In 2006, Curtis Meyer won the Mellon College of Science Julius Ashkin Teaching Award. The award was presented at April 2004 meeting of the Mellon College of Science.

The Ryan Award
The William H. and Frances S. Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching is given annually to a full-time faculty member at Carnegie Mellon who has demonstrated unusual devotion and effectiveness in teaching undergraduate or graduate students.
The award is intended to recognize excellence in teaching in several dimensions:
* outstanding classroom teaching
* creation of challenging and innovative courses
* creation or use of new and innovative teaching methods and course materials
* effective supervision of research or creative projects
* effective supervision of undergraduate honors students and graduate students

In 2008, Curtis Meyer won the Carnegie Mellon University William H. and Francis S. Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching. This was reported on the the April/May 2008 issue of the Piper.

© 2023 Curtis A. Meyer